Broken

Standard

As I lay before you, legs spread wide

I notice your eyes scale down my sides

I used to be ashamed of these lines

These Marks

Proof of what I have stomached

And for that, I will not apologize.

 

As we argue, angry words exchanged

I can’t help but fear what’s ahead

The attitude spilling from within

This lack of remorse for what is being said

Only to protect myself

And for that, I will not apologize.

 

As I’m swallowed by my past

Consumed by my insecurity

I can’t put into words

The reasons for my immaturity

There is an explanation

But for that, I will not apologize.

 

You see, it’s always been difficult

For me to open my soul

I mean, beyond all things physical

I realize I’m hard to love

I’m broken

And for that, I will not apologize.

 

Despite of all these things

Regardless of my strong will

Even when my self loathing stings

You love me still

Others don’t understand

And for that, I will not apologize.

 

 

Please keep in mind that this is the first “poem” I’ve written since I was 13 or so. I don’t follow “rules”, I don’t put much thought into it, I just write. Like the rest of my blog, this just kind of came out and I chose to go with it.

 

About amorefado

I am a mother of a gorgeous, intelligent, 7 year old daughter. I was raised in the Central Valley, California. My parents are immigrants from the Azores and I speak Portuguese (as well as Spanish) fluently. I've grown a lot in the last 4 years and I plan on doing a lot more of that. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I'm scatter brained. I'm 27, and I'm on a journey to find myself. I'm also here to entertain you with all of my randomness. You will love my posts or hate my posts, either way I write for myself. I am infatuated with music and unicorns (I own socks people, socks). I'm a huge asshole who loves everyone and cries about things that probably don't matter to anyone else.

10 responses »

  1. I like it! Don’t worry about poem rules, I break them all whenever I write poetry. And for that, I will not apologize. (Sorry, couldn’t help myself). Write more poems, you’re good at it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If this is the first thing you’ve attempted since you were a ‘tweeny’ then you are astonishing! You’re a natural writer, my dear girl! And in my opinion, a very courageous woman. This poem spoke volumes to me…I am so glad/amazed/thankful that you can write such candid, inspiring truth…the repetitive line…”And for that I will not apologise…” is so effective BECAUSE of its repetition..like I said, you’re a natural writer…I wish I known at 26 what you do…but it’s never too late…I’m learning now and that’s the point…bravo, amorefado, bravo!! Katie. P.S. Thanks for liking my blog…appreciate it greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

