She Does! He Does! They Do!

Standard

I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t been able to post, my best friend just got married this past weekend. I’ve spent my entire life hating the idea of a wedding, not of marriage, but of the actual wedding.I began to reconsider my opinion when one of my very good friends got married. Her wedding was so beautiful and full of love; all of her family, friends and his family were all there for the same reason. To watch this couple profess their love to each other and they all supported it wholeheartedly. Unfortunately, I couldn’t be her bridesmaid when she asked due to personal reasons but I was able to participate in my best friend’s wedding. Let’s not lie, being a bridesmaid is expensive as shit! Shoes, dress, makeup, hair, traveling, etc! When both friends asked me to be their bridesmaid I was so flattered and immediately filled with emotions at this amazing opportunity to be a big part of their weddings. Don’t get me wrong, at this point I was still not a fan.

The day came to drive up to Half Moon Bay, make all of the flower arrangements, bouquets, boutonnieres and decorate the hall for the big special day! It was so much work but our friends and Stephanie’s family came together beautifully to execute the wedding of her dreams. After two days of decorating, finalizing details, and planning it was finally the big day. I woke up in a house full of bridesmaids and the brides family and all I could think when I opened my eyes was “my best friend gets married today”. I became emotional. Fourteen years of friendship, heartaches, stupid boys, personal turmoils, gains, losses….All of it. It all flooded my mind and my heart. My best friend is getting married. She deserves this. She deserves the beautiful dress, the great food, the eighteen bottles of tequila, his eyes gazing into hers oh so lovingly, and a room full of supportive onlookers. After hours of makeup and hair, she was finally ready. I walked into the living room and saw her staring out of the double doors to the balcony. Flawless. My eyes teared up at the sight of her looking so gorgeous and regal in her white dress and her handmade, floor length veil. I didn’t want to smear my amazing makeup so of course I sucked it up.

We called her father upstairs to watch his reaction at the sight of her for the first time in her dress, fully done up. He slowly walked up the stairs and looked over at her as her back was turned to him. He paused. Took her in. In all the years that I’ve known this tall, manly, mustached man…I’ve never seen him so taken aback. Speechless. He slowly walks over to her and she turns around, his eyes widen and he gives her a big hug and a kiss on the lips. He backs away, looks her up and down once, and nods in approval. In an attempt not to cry he backs away and smiles. This….This moment is what made me change my mind about weddings. Not the moment she said “I Do”. Not the drinking. The gifts. The dancing. The way her now husband looked at her as she walked down the aisle. This moment right here. A father who has witnessed his daughter flourish into a beautiful, classy young woman. A woman who has succeeded, accomplished her dreams and who has finally found the love of her life and who has done it all in a way he’s always dreamed she would. This moment was the most emotional for me (besides watching him cry in church). Stephanie’s parents mean the world to her and their approval is what matters most. That one nod, that moment of offering his blessing, that approval. It’s what we all, as daughters, crave and want. I feel if I was in her shoes, that would make the entire experience worth it even more so than seeing my husband slip a ring on my finger and vowing to love me forever.

Bottom line: the entire wedding was beautiful. I loved being a bridesmaid, I haven’t had that much fun in a long long time. Both families came together seamlessly. I’d relive this experience a million times, despite the small things that went wrong, just to watch my best friend fall in love all over again with her husband. To watch the look on her face when she walked back out of the church after her ceremony. To watch this man look into her eyes the way she deserves to be looked at.

Cheers to a badass time…And many more to come!

About amorefado

I am a mother of a gorgeous, intelligent, 7 year old daughter. I was raised in the Central Valley, California. My parents are immigrants from the Azores and I speak Portuguese (as well as Spanish) fluently. I've grown a lot in the last 4 years and I plan on doing a lot more of that. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I'm scatter brained. I'm 27, and I'm on a journey to find myself. I'm also here to entertain you with all of my randomness. You will love my posts or hate my posts, either way I write for myself. I am infatuated with music and unicorns (I own socks people, socks). I'm a huge asshole who loves everyone and cries about things that probably don't matter to anyone else.

2 responses »

  1. Gosh I need to catch up with her. The pictures were beautiful! She was such an awesome person when I was closer to her!, I couldn’t be happier for her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

