A Hand Written Letter To My Best Friend

Standard

Remember when we used to write to each other in class? Or when we’d write long letters to each other for our birthdays? God, we’ve been friends for 14 years now, where has the time gone? At least my chicken scratch hasn’t changed. I really just wanted to tell you how proud I am of you. You’ve done everything right, and I look up to you for that. From finishing school, finding your dream job, to finding the man of your dreams…Well I found him for you lol! From such a young age, I knew you were going to do great things. You have always been the positive force in my life. Through it all, I can honestly say that you’ve been there for me. Not many best friends can say they’ve been best friends for this long without really arguing. You’ve never judged me or made me feel inadequate. You’ve always had faith in me like I do in you. I laugh when I think about the stuff we used to talk about growing up and how it all seemed light years away. We used to wonder what we’d be like when we graduated high school. You were always so sure you wanted to be a nurse while I mulled over six different majors. I was always the loose cannon while you kept me grounded. We wondered if we’d ever find love, what our kids would be like, if we’d be well off, and so on. How strange to look back and then look at where we are now.

We don’t see each other often and we don’t talk every day, but I will always feel close to you. You finally found someone who loves you the way you deserve to be loved. I only hope that he cherishes you the way you deserve to be cherished, I hope he respects you the way you deserve to be respected, and I hope he realizes the gem that he has found. I can’t think of anyone who deserves peace, success and happiness more than you do. I wonder what your kids will be like, I still wonder if I’ll ever be married, I wonder what we’ll be like in our forties or where we’ll end up. I wonder if we’ll end up close to each in our eighties, maybe even in the same “home”. I wonder if I’ll still be the same hot mess that I am now. Hitting on the male nurses, getting you into trouble, doubling up on our meds and taking a shot of vodka afterwards. Whatever happens, I know we’ll be best friends until the very end. I hope your wedding shower is what you expected it to be and I really hope your wedding day is everything you want it to be and more.

I love you more than I can put into words.

Let the festivities begin!

Irene

About amorefado

I am a mother of a gorgeous, intelligent, 7 year old daughter. I was raised in the Central Valley, California. My parents are immigrants from the Azores and I speak Portuguese (as well as Spanish) fluently. I've grown a lot in the last 4 years and I plan on doing a lot more of that. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I'm scatter brained. I'm 27, and I'm on a journey to find myself. I'm also here to entertain you with all of my randomness. You will love my posts or hate my posts, either way I write for myself. I am infatuated with music and unicorns (I own socks people, socks). I'm a huge asshole who loves everyone and cries about things that probably don't matter to anyone else.

8 responses »

Leave a Reply

