Spa Day

Standard

Today my GM treated the management team (yes all women) to a day at the nail salon, and of course, I couldn’t contain my excitement! A few hours out of the office just to revamp my toes? Why not? As the girls had their nails worked on, I was sat next to this older woman in the pedicure chairs since I was the only one getting my toes done. I smiled at her as I approached my chair and she just looked me up and down and gave me the slightest hint of a smile. I had to adjust my glasses just to make sure I saw it. As I sat next to her, I overheard the nail tech asking her questions only to be replied to with rude responses and major attitude.

How are you?

Fine.

I haven’t seen you here before.

Yeah, so.

Is this your family?

Yeah that’s my mom and my sister. My mom’s paying for it. 

Oh that’s nice!

Yeah….Okay. 

I sat there and judged the hell out of this lady. I don’t care how bad of a day you’re having lady, be nice! There is no reason for you to be rude to this poor woman who is being forced to work on your horrid pterodactyl toes *raaaawwwrrrrr*. I looked over at her and smiled and she rolled her eyes at me. Uhhhhh okay thanks lady. SOMEONE GET THIS LADY A KITTEN!

Then I heard it. The conversation that would change me. The conversation that would make me realize that I’M the asshole. I’m judging this woman without even knowing what her problem is. In my profession, I have drilled into front desk’s brains DO NOT JUDGE YOUR GUESTS. Our guests come in after a long, shitty flight and treat you like shit for it? Suck it up, you don’t know what they’ve been through that day. A guest walks in every single day and doesn’t say one peep to you, suck it up you don’t know what they’ve been through that day. As for this person, for some reason, I couldn’t remember my own advice. There it was. My advice thrown in my face.

My toenails are brown, please be gentle with them. 

Oh gosh I’m sorry, I will.

Yeah, it’s from the chemo. 

The chemo?

Yeah, I had cancer. 

Wow I’m sorry, what was wrong?

I have Vaginal Intraepithelial Neoplasia.

Were you able to cure it?

Yeah…They cut into half of the outer layers of my vagina. 

No. People shouldn’t be jerks just because they suffer from a disease or had a bad day. This, by no means, gives anyone the right to treat another human this way. But shit did I feel bad. So bad. People don’t handle things the same way, they don’t know how to work around stress or when horrible things happen to them. They just lash out. It could be due to the lack of a support system. It could be the lack of a significant other. It could be the lack of hope and faith. Whatever it is, we don’t know what’s going on in other people’s lives. I wish I could have been as patient or understanding as the woman kneeling at this person’s feet. I wish I could go back and just talk to her, start a conversation completely unrelated to what she has been through. Not mentioning the fact that she can’t stick her toes under UV lighting, not mentioning that her hair is thin, not mentioning the trauma her body has been through. A moment to just talk about anything else.

Soccer.

National Debt.

Gerard Butler’s hot ass.

Anything else. It is a spa day after all.

About amorefado

I am a mother of a gorgeous, intelligent, 7 year old daughter. I was raised in the Central Valley, California. My parents are immigrants from the Azores and I speak Portuguese (as well as Spanish) fluently. I've grown a lot in the last 4 years and I plan on doing a lot more of that. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I'm scatter brained. I'm 27, and I'm on a journey to find myself. I'm also here to entertain you with all of my randomness. You will love my posts or hate my posts, either way I write for myself. I am infatuated with music and unicorns (I own socks people, socks). I'm a huge asshole who loves everyone and cries about things that probably don't matter to anyone else.

16 responses »

Leave a Reply

