Dating Chronicles Part 5 – Just Say It

Standard

Women and men alike loooooove to play the game. If you’ve ever been a single adult, you know exactly what this game is. In fact, if you’ve ever been single in general you know what game this is. Teenagers, adults, and even some seniors play this game. It’s the game where you can’t just tell someone you like them, oh no, you have to make them guess. Keep it cool. Limit your texting to twice a day at the very most. Keep them short, don’t text paragraphs, don’t reply right away, wait at least 24 hours after your date to text, don’t be too eager to see each other (at least not out loud), keep your compliments down to one every few days, sure tell me about yourself but let’s keep it light, no dark information. Oh we have mutual friends? Let me find out all there is to know about you first, and if I don’t like what I hear, I’ll move on. No need to retrieve anything from the source. Keep the other people you talk to a secret, after all, what feelings?

I. Do. Not. Play. This. Game. 

Grow up. That’s it. Grow up. It’s easy. Be honest not only to yourself but to others. If you like someone, say it. If you want to spend time with them, say it. If you have other people you’re interested in, say it. If you go on dates, say it. If you feel like texting or calling, do it. I don’t know why people feel the need to impress each other so much. No one (but that one dumbass friend) will call you whooped or a sissy for expressing yourself to someone else. Men lately are used to women who chase and women lately are used to throwing themselves at men in all the wrong ways. Then there are others who want to play “hard to get” and then get upset when that person has given up on them. Don’t play period. All of these words being thrown out there are just made to make you feel self conscious. Thirsty. Whooped. Side bitches. It’s all wrong and childish.

Live. Feel. Love. Laugh. Hug. Be Yourself.

It’s okay if you’re dorky, if you have a weird laugh, if you have a strange obsession with Harry Potter or if you’ve been through some shit. It’s OKAY. If someone can’t accept your quirks then why waste time on them? If they’re too “cool” for you then let them be “cool” all by themselves. Chances are they’re not ready for you and/or they don’t deserve you.

It’s okay to tell someone you’re not interested instead of just blocking their number and falling off the face of the Earth. Just say it. I’m sorry, I’m no longer interested. A little bit of constructive criticism never killed anyone.

I know, it’s hard to do these things because we’ve all been hurt, but there’s your problem right there. Treat every new friendship/relationship as if it’s a new relationship, because that’s what it is, new. Do not suffer continuously because of what happened to you in the past. You’re the only one who’s losing. On the other hand, why is it so difficult for people to just be friends? Why is it all or nothing for some people? Or why do they expect a sexual relationship if nothing else? Women and men don’t know how to JUST be friends. You horny freaks. If that’s all you’re looking for, then just say it. Who knows, that other person might want the same type of relationship.

Stop wasting each other’s time.

Just say it.

About amorefado

I am a mother of a gorgeous, intelligent, 7 year old daughter. I was raised in the Central Valley, California. My parents are immigrants from the Azores and I speak Portuguese (as well as Spanish) fluently. I've grown a lot in the last 4 years and I plan on doing a lot more of that. I love to laugh and make people laugh. I'm scatter brained. I'm 27, and I'm on a journey to find myself. I'm also here to entertain you with all of my randomness. You will love my posts or hate my posts, either way I write for myself. I am infatuated with music and unicorns (I own socks people, socks). I'm a huge asshole who loves everyone and cries about things that probably don't matter to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

